Keeping that monthly grocery budget

I think I did well on trying to keep the $50 – $60 a week grocery budget over the last two weeks. If you remember, I spent $89 at Aldi’s – click herefor previous post. We haven’t bought much else since then but milk, bread, etc. I don’t include baby items like diapers, do you? June is going to start a new month for us to see if this budget thing really is going to work for us. I budgeted $300 for grocery’s, cleaning supplies, toiletries, etc. Diapers and baby food have their own budget of $60 a month. With little man in day care now and he is eating more finger foods (he’s 8 1/2 mths), the food budget will go down for him. We use Parent Choice Diapers (unless I find a good deal on diapers which I got great deals on Pampers, Huggies and Luvs in May – so we are pretty stocked up.) that are about $14 for 103 ct. for those of you wondering how I keep my diaper budget so low. I can’t see spending $25 for Huggies or Pampers for a box count half the size of PC.

I need to get my hubby on board too. He pretty much is already. As I said, June will be the big test! I think I’ll keep all the receipts and figure it all out at the end of the month. I’m going to do another Aldi’s trip this week. We loved all the products, even the meat products, we got from there.  I still have a decent amount of veggies (cans) left over from my last trip.

I don’t have any ECB or WAGS RR to use – so I don’t think I can save money that way. I’ll have to look and see what deals are going on to see what I need. Tomorrow, Monday, I’ll pick up my $1 Sunday paper at Kroger. From what I’m reading, there are some decent coupons this time around.

Have a great Sunday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Savings

Leave a Reply

